2017 TeX Users Group Election

The positions of TUG President and nine members of the Board of Directors will be open as of the TUG 2017 Annual Meeting, which will be held in April-May 2017 in Bachotek, Poland.

The current President, Jim Hefferon, has stated his intention to step down, and the current Vice President, Boris Veytsman, has stated his intention to run for President.

The TUG directors whose terms will expire in 2017: Karl Berry, Kaja Christiansen, Steve Grathwohl, Klaus Höppner, Steve Peter, Geoffrey Poore, Arthur Reutenauer, Michael Sofka.

Continuing directors, with terms ending in 2019: Barbara Beeton, Susan DeMeritt, Michael Doob, Cheryl Ponchin, Norbert Preining, Boris Veytsman.

The election to choose the new president and board members will be held in early Spring of 2017. Nominations for these openings are now invited. The term of President is two years, and the term of a TUG Director is four years.

An informal list of guidelines for TUG board members describes the basic functioning of the TUG board, including roles for the various officers.

Nomination and election process

The TUG Bylaws provide that “Any member may be nominated for election to the office of TUG President/to the Board by submitting a nomination petition in accordance with the TUG Election Procedures. Election … shall be by … ballot of the entire membership, carried out in accordance with those same Procedures.”

The name of any member may be placed in nomination for election to one of the open offices by submission of a petition, signed by two other members in good standing, to the TUG office; the petition and all signatures must be received by the deadline published below.

A candidate's membership dues for 2017 must be paid before the nomination deadline. For joint members of TUG and another user group, this requirement is met if dues have been paid for the previous year, and they have confirmed that they will continue their joint membership in the current (election) year.

You can download a printable nomination form (letter-size PDF, A4 PDF) or obtain a form from the TUG office.

Along with a nomination form, each candidate must supply a passport-size photograph, a short biography, and a statement of intent to be included with the ballot; the biography and statement of intent together may not exceed 400 words. The deadline for receipt of complete nomination forms and ballot information is 5 p.m. PST 1 February 2017 at the TUG office in Portland, Oregon, USA. No exceptions will be made. Forms may be submitted by fax, or scanned and submitted by email to office@tug.org; receipt will be confirmed by email.

Information for obtaining ballot forms from the TUG website will be distributed by email to all members within 21 days after the close of nominations. It will be possible to vote electronically. Members preferring to receive a paper ballot will be able to make arrangements by notifying the TUG office. Marked ballots must be received by the date noted on the ballots.

Ballots will be counted by a disinterested party not affiliated with the TUG organization. The results of the election should be available by mid-April, and will be announced in a future issue of TUGboat and through various electronic media.

Barbara Beeton
for the Elections Committee (tug-election@tug.org)

Previous elections

For the record, announcements, results, and other information about previous elections is available: 2015, 2013, 2011, 2009, 2007, 2005, 2003, 2001, 1999, 1997.

$Date: 2017/01/27 15:05:21 $;
TUG home page; webmaster; facebook; twitter;   (via DuckDuckGo)